direkt zum Inhalt springen

direkt zum Hauptnavigationsmenü

Sie sind hier

TU Berlin

Page Content

Symposium "Beware of Smart People!"

 The current debate about Smart Cities is strongly influenced by technological and application-oriented “hard” perspectives that predominantly materialize through the insertion of “smart” infrastructures into existing urban systems. Citizens (as individuals) and urban societies (as bodies) remain predominantly passive beneficiaries, end users or consumers.

This “smartification” of urban management is contrasted by increasing demands made by civil society and urban social movements towards greater inclusion in decision-making: New urban actors acquire new agency through local knowledge, expertise, creativity, social networking skills and collaborative capabilities, or social entrepreneurship.

The symposium “Beware of Smart People” addresses the conflictual reality in which Smart City approaches are currently unfolding. International scholars and practitioners will (1) Reflect on the “Smart City” as a contested paradigm; (2) Shift the discourse towards the notion of the urban as co-produced by many voices; (3) Attempt to redefine “Smart City” by putting ordinary citizens as “smart people” at the core of the debate.

Confirmed speakers are: Adam Greenfield, Vanessa Watson, Saskia Sassen, Mark Deakin, Alberto Vanolo, Ola Söderström, Gudrun Haindlmaier, Adegboyega Ojo, Gautam Bhan and Colin McFarlane.

Date: June 19 - 20, 2015,

Venue: Berlin/Germany; Tschechisches Kulturzentrum Wilhelmstraße 44 10117 Berlin and TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 135, 10623 Berlin - Main building, Lichthof

Find here more information on the programme and registration.

This symposium is organized by: Dialogplattform Smart People & Urban Commoning, TU Berlin (Sybille Frank, Angela Million, Andreas Brück, Philipp Misselwitz, Johanna Schlaack, Carolin Schröder, Jörg Stollmann)

Contact person at CTS is Carolin Schröder.

Zusatzinformationen / Extras

Quick Access:

Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe